The Keats-Shelley Prize Winners 2017


The winners of 2017's Keats-Shelley Prizes were announced by the Prize Chair, Baroness Floella Benjamin, at the Royal Society of Antiquaries on 24th April.

Keats Shelley 05

The evening was introduced by Rt Hon Matt Hancock, MP, Minister for Culture and Digital Culture, and concluded with a reading by Sir Bob Geldof of two sonnets by John Keats, 'On First Looking into Chapman's Homer' and 'To One Who Has Long Been in City Pent.'

2017 Keats-Shelley Adult Prize: Essays

Keats Shelley 03

The winner of 2017's Keats-Shelley Adult Essay Prize is Hester Styles Vickery with ‘Keats and Consumption’ (£1000). A graduate of Lincoln College, Oxford, Hester plans to study an MA in Modern Literature at University College London next year. 

The runner up is John Greenfield with ‘On Jane Campion’s Bright Star: The Disputed Biographies of John Keats and Fanny Brawne’ (£500). John Greenfield is a Professor of English at McKendree University, Illinois.

In third place is James Tinsley with ‘The Polar Sublime’.

2017 Keats-Shelley Adult Prize: Poetry

Keats Shelley 04

The winner of 2017's Keats-Shelley Poetry Prize is Cahal Dallat for Giant (£1000)Born in County Antrim, Cahal has won the Strokestown International Poetry Competition. He is currently the Causley Trust’s centenary-year musician and poet-in-residence at Cyprus Well House in Cornall. His writing has appeared in the TLS and the Guardian. His latest collection is The Year of Not Dancing (Blackstaff).

Second prize went to DH Maitreyabandhu, who won the Prize in 2009, with One Hundred Cloche Hats (£500).

The shortlisted poets are:

Maria Isakova Bennett: St George’s Garden, Lime St

Rachel Burns: The Dolls

Matt Bryden: Supporting Actor

Kirsten Irving: Kase-Obake

Claire Potter: Ex-Voto

Roger Vickery: Free Tickets to a Mamet

Charlotte Walker: Projection

Jackie Wills: Veve’s Invitation


Keats Shelley 06

2017's Keats-Shelley and Young Romantics Prize Winners and Shortlisters

Shortlist Biographies

Maria Isakova Bennett lives and works in Liverpool. Over the past three years, her poetry has been selected by Clare Pollard as winner of the Ver Open Poetry competition, has been highly commended in the Gregory O’ Donoghue and Munster Literature Chapbook Competitions, and appeared in Eyewear’s anthology of The Best New British and Irish poets. Maria’s work has also been shortlisted in several poetry competitions including Bridport, Wigtown and Mslexia. Maria delivers readings with fellow poet Michael Brown, and runs workshops in art galleries on Merseyside.

Matt Bryden is a teacher and writer living in Somerset. He runs the Somerset Young Poets Competition and is creator of the Poetry Map, a free online teaching resource.

Rachel Burns is a poet and playwright living in Durham. Her poetry has been published widely in UK literary magazines. She won 2nd place in The Writers'& Artists' sonnet competition judged by Ruth Padel.

Kirsten Irving is a poet and freelance writer based in London. She is co-editor of the collaborative poetry press Sidekick Books, and has edited more than 10 anthologies. Her work has been published by Salt and Happenstance, translated into Russian and thrown out of a helicopter. Projects in the pipes involve crow language, erotic monsters, yokai and Battle Royale.

DH Maitreyabandhu won the 2009 Keats-Shelley Prize. His other awards include the Basil Bunting Award, and the Geoffrey Dearmer Prize. His debut collection, The Crumb Road (Bloodaxe, 2013) is a PBS Recommendation. Yarn (also with Bloodaxe) was published in autumn 2015.

Claire Potter’s first collection, Swallow (Five Islands Press, Melbourne) was shortlisted for numerous Premier’s Literary Awards in Australia and she has published two chapbooks. Her recent poems have appeared in Poetry Review Ireland and Poetry (Chicago). She is currently working on her second collection.

Roger Vickery is an Australian writer of poetry, short stories and plays. He has won over 70 literary awards. He was a finalist in the 2015 International Fish Poetry Prize and shortlisted for the 2016 Bath Flash Fiction Award. His play A Nest of Skunks (co-authored with James Balian) enjoyed a highly successful Sydney season in 2016. 

Charlotte Walker is a writer, translator and illustrator who grew up in Yorkshire and recently moved back there from France. She is currently a resident artist of the Arts Charity at Dean Clough, where she is producing her first book of poems. She is also completing illustrations for a book for the Causley Trust centenary celebrations in Cornwall. In 2016 she was writer and artist-in-residence at Charles Causley’s house, Cyprus Well.

Jackie Wills has published five collections of poetry; her most recent is Woman's Head as Jug (Arc, 2013). She has been a professional writer for 40 years and lives in Brighton.

Judges Panel

The Chair of Judges is Baroness Floella Benjamin.

Poems: Matthew Sweeney & Jo Shapcott

Essays: Professor Simon Bainbridge & Professor Sharon Ruston

For updates, please follow us on Twitter: @Keats_Shelley